Back

What happens to my email address when my BT Broadband service stops?

If you have BT email and you cancel your broadband with us, you can:

  • Close your BT email
  • Keep your email but with more basic features by getting Basic email, which is free
  • Keep your email with the same features by getting Premium email, which costs £7.50 a month
  • Keep your email with the same features, by linking it to a friend or family member's BT Broadband, which is free

If you don't make a choice yourself, we'll transfer you to Basic email.

For 60 days after you leave BT Broadband you can choose to upgrade to Premium email.

You or any of the users linked to your account can link your email address to another BT Broadband account at any time.

Until your broadband ends, you’ll still be able to use your email.

If you close your BT email, on your broadband end date:

  • You’ll have 60 days to upgrade to Premium email via My BT. If you do this you can downgrade to Basic email at any time
  • If you don’t upgrade to Premium email, after 60 days all of the email addresses linked to your BT ID will be deleted
  • Once the email addresses have been deleted, you’ll have the option to Re-use the email address for up to 3 years but it won’t be possible to recover personal data
  • Users of email addresses linked to the closed broadband account will be de-linked and downgraded to Basic email too. Once this happens, they will also have the option to upgrade to Premium email via My BT   

You or any of the users linked to your account can link your email address to another BT Broadband account or delete it at any time.

Until your broadband ends, you’ll still be able to use your email.

If you switch to Basic, on your broadband end date:

  • Your email service will be downgraded to Basic email
  • When this happens you’ll be able to upgrade to Premium email via My BT at any time
  • Users of email addresses linked to your account will also be downgraded to Basic email. These users will also have the option to upgrade to Premium email via My BT  

You or any of the users linked to your account can link your email address to another BT Broadband account or delete it at any time.

Until your broadband ends, you'll still be able to use your email.

If you switch to Premium, on your broadband end date:

  • Your email service will be changed to Premium email and we’ll start charging you
  • You’ll be able to change to Basic email via My BT at any time
  • Users of email addresses linked to your account will also be automatically changed to Premium email and will stay linked to your account

Thanks for your feedback

Please select one feedback option

Submit

Need more help?