BT Mobile Travel Data Pass add-on

Our Travel Data Pass add-on is a great way to keep costs down when you’re abroad. You get 500MB every 24 hours while roaming in the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • China
  • India
  • Mexico
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States

Each 24 hour allowance costs £6 and you can order online >

Don't forget, if you're in a Roam like Home country, you can just use the data in your BT Mobile plan. If not, you’ll have to pay for data.

Check out our tariff guide for more details >

You can add a Travel Data Pass to your account anytime at www.btcom.ll-digital-sandbx1.bt.com/mymobile >

Or, we’ll send a text when you start using data in a country covered by our add-ons. Just reply with "500" to buy the add-on, and we'll text you back when it’s on your account. This usually takes about 10 minutes but it can take up to 30 minutes.

After that you’ll get 500MB of data every 24 hours. Each 24 hour allowance costs £6 so if you don't use it you'll lose it. We'll send you a text each time we give you a new allowance.

Just so you know, it doesn't count towards your spend cap or data roaming cap - you'll pay the normal data rate for the country you're in until your next 24 hour allowance kicks in.

Don't worry; we'll text when you're almost at the end of your allowance, and again when you've used it all up.

You can keep it on your account, ready for when you’re using data in one of the 12 countries. We’ll only charge when we add each 24 hour allowance.

The charge will be added to your account straight away and will appear under "One-off charges" on your next bill.

It's fine, add-ons are separate from your plan so upgrading or downgrading won't affect anything. We’ll transfer your add-on and any allowance you have to your new plan.

If you’ve got lots of SIMs and have accidentally bought an add-on for the wrong one, then you’ll need to get in touch.

You can only have one Travel Data Pass per SIM.

You can keep it on your account, ready for when you’re using data in one of the 12 countries.

  • Your allowances will automatically start when you start using data in an eligible country (as long as you’ve not previously replied STOP to one of our texts)
  • The data allowances and any charges will automatically stop when you stop using data. For example, when you turn off data roaming or leave the country
  • If you want to stop getting allowances reply STOP to one of the texts we send you. You can still use the remaining balance of that allowance until it runs out
  • If you’ve previously replied STOP, you can re-start them by replying START to our text
  • You can also stop and start your allowances by logging into MyBT and using the toggle button in the Mobile Add-ons area 
  • To remove the add-on from your mobile number altogether visit www.btcom.ll-digital-sandbx1.bt.com/mymobile or get in touch with us

 

 
 

 

There are lots of ways your smartphone can use data without you knowing. Here's a few examples:

  • Some phones use mobile data if a wi-fi connection is poor or running slowly, for example Wi-Fi Assist on iPhones
  • Some phones will switch to mobile data when the screen is off or to save on the battery
  • If a mobile is powering up after being switched off, it might connect to data before it connects to a wi-fi network
  • Software and apps can automatically update in the background using data, even if the phone's not in use
  • Backup software like iCloud or Dropbox can use data to backup and store files
  • Some phones have an automatic 'heartbeat' feature where a brief connection is made to the mobile network even when data is switched off on the handset

 

To control how your phone or apps connect to the network and whether or not they use wi-fi or data, check your phone settings.

 

 

 
 

Thanks for your feedback

Please select one feedback option

Submit

Need more help?