Back

How can I turn Smart Setup on and off?

Smart Setup is BT's online set-up wizard. Every time you connect a new device to your Hub, it guides you through setting up all the features and services available for that device. It should appear as soon as you connect to the Hub and open a browser.

 

Switching Smart Setup on and off on the BT Smart Hub or BT Smart Hub 2

1: Open a new web browser on a device connected to your Hub and type 192.168.1.254 in the address bar. This will open the Hub manager
2: Click Smart Setup
3: Enter the admin password. Unless you've previously changed it, you'll find the default password on your Hub settings card on the back of your Hub. If you have changed it and now forgotten it, you can use the password override feature to set up a new password without losing all your personal Hub settings and configuration
4: Click the "On/off" button to turn Smart Setup on or off
5: Remember once you make any changes you'll need to save them. Click Save 

 

Switching Smart Setup on and off on the BT Home Hub 4 or Hub 5

You can turn Smart Setup on or off in the Hub Manager. Here's how:
1: Open the Hub Manager by going to 192.168.1.254 in your web browser
2: Click on Advanced Settings
3:Enter the admin password. Unless you've previously changed it, you'll find the default password on your Hub settings card on the back of your Hub. If you've changed it and now forgotten it, you can use the password override feature to set up a new password
4: Click on Continue to Advanced Settings
5: Click on Home Network and then Smart Setup
6: Click the appropriate radio button to turn Smart Setup on or off and then click Apply  


More help with Smart Setup

Do I have to complete Smart Setup every time I connect a new device to my Hub?

It's best that you complete Smart Setup to ensure that you get the most out of your BT Broadband features and services.
If you want to exit, you'll need to do this on the login step of Smart Setup. You can't exit the first few steps. This is so you can learn about some of the most important features of your BT Broadband package.
Once you reach the login step, you can select "Start Browsing" in the top right hand corner and this will release you from Smart Setup on the device you're using.
If at a later stage you want to find the features and services that you would have been offered during Smart Setup, you just need to log in to www.btcom.ll-digital-sandbx1.bt.com/mybt. You'll find all your features and services in the "My Extras" section.

I switched off Smart Setup but am getting it again. Why?

Smart Setup usually only needs to happen once on each new device you connect to your Hub.
If you're getting Smart Setup again on a device you've already set up, it may be that you have performed a factory reset on your BT Hub. This restores your factory settings and wipes your Hub's memory about which devices have already completed Smart Setup.
If you haven't done a factory reset, it may be that you didn't fully complete Smart Setup when you connected your device. This means your Hub hasn't yet registered your device as completed.
Make sure you've completed every step of Smart Setup.

Smart Setup doesn't seem to be working. What's the problem?

If you've just connected a new device to your Hub, but didn't see Smart Setup when you expected to, there could be several reasons:

• Smart Setup only works on a Home Hub 4, Hub 5, BT Smart Hub and the BT Smart Hub 2 when you connect to your Hub. It won't work if you're connected to BT Wi-fi or via mobile data (on a smartphone, for example)
• It only fires up when you open a browser
• Smart Setup only works when it is switched on in your Hub manager. By default Smart Setup is turned on, but it may have previously been switched off
• Smart Setup only works the first time you connect each device to your Hub. If the device you're using it on has connected to your Hub before and completed Smart Setup already, it won't appear again .
 

Need more help?